top of page

Hot Potato!

Looking for a savory equivalent to a one serving mug cake? No need to look any further, microwaved potato wedges are the perfect pick for you. This cost effective snack sounds too good to be true but taters gonna hate because it is delicious. It is quick and is easy to add on to make it more filling if needed.


Not going to lie I was very skeptical about cooking potatoes in the microwave, although I love to make quick scrambled eggs that way. I chose this recipe because it was easy, and the only thing I needed to get at the market was a potato.


When thinking about my days living in a dorm, the biggest challenge I had with eating healthy was kitchen access. I wanted to eat things that I could take out of the wrapper and heat up, and there is only so much popcorn and oatmeal I wanted to eat. This option is small, and simple enough that I think I really would have enjoyed it when I was living in a dorm, in total I think it took 10 minutes. I think other college students would as well.



Overall it went well, if you couldn't tell from my introduction paragraphs. I totally loved the wedges and it was exactly what I didn't know I needed. I would only add to this by mixing in some more spices and maybe adding something to dip the wedges in.


See the recipe below and enjoy!


Microwave Potato Wedges



Ingredients

1 unpeeled medium baking potato

1 teaspoon vegetable oil

Salt and pepper




Preparation

1. Cut the potato lengthwise into eight wedges. Rinse in a colander and pat dry with kitchen towel.

2. Toss the wedges in vegetable oil and season with salt and pepper.

3. Place the potato wedges on a microwave-safe plate. Cover and cook on high for 4-6 minutes or until tender, turning wedges once.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page