top of page

Delicious Blueberry French Toast!


Are you looking for a quick and easy breakfast? Do you have a microwave safe mug lying around your dorm room? Well, do I have the perfect recipe for you! A simple 7 ingredient 1 ½ minute blueberry French toast is perfect for those mornings you are in a rush to go to class or want a warm meal that tastes like home. I chose this recipe as I am a full-time graduate student in a rush trying to balance schoolwork as well as a full-time job. I also am a huge fan of French toast but find that cooking it on a stove takes too much time.


As a college student we are always running around. It is challenging to maintain healthy eating habits as it is easier and quicker to get pre-made food rather than making it yourself. It is faster and easier to hit up a fast-food chain restaurant such as Wendy’s to get a 4 for 4 rather than making a burger and French fries yourself. By doing this the student typically feels less stressed as they did not lose too much time. Back in my undergraduate some days I would find myself eating once a day as I would lock myself in the library studying or doing homework to make sure I received the best grade possible. If I wanted food, there was a place like Starbucks in the library where I could just get a bagel and red bull and go on with my day. In retrospect this was not healthy. If I knew about this recipe while in college, I would have made it as it takes 1 ½ minutes and I could eat and be out of my dorm in 10 minutes tops. If I went to the dining hall it would be a ten-minute walk and then another 10 or 20 minutes to wait in line for food, sit down and then eat. Finding time to eat is crucial and simple recipes such as this blueberry French toast in a mug would save the day.


I made this recipe twice as the first time I used a mug that was not very tall. The blueberries got too hot and exploded out of the cup into the microwave. The second time I made it, I used a taller mug and did not have this issue. I used a thick bread, the artesano bread form Sara Lee, which is the perfect fluffiness for French toast. I felt like if I used a thinner bread it would not absorb the egg as well and would not leave me feeling full and as satisfied. My advice for the future reader is to beware of the blueberries exploding out of the mug and be careful of how hot the French toast actually is being that the bread and blueberries at the bottom of the mug stay hotter longer than expected.












Recipe:


Ingredients

for 1 serving

· 1 slice bread

· 1 egg

· 2 tablespoons milk

· ¼ teaspoon cinnamon

· ½ teaspoon vanilla extract

· blueberry, to taste

· maple syrup, to drizzle

Instructions

1. Slice bread into cubes.

2. In a bowl, add egg, milk, cinnamon, and vanilla, and mix.

3. In a microwave-safe mug, place half of the cubed bread and desired amount of blueberries.

4. Place the rest of the bread, berries, and the egg mixture into the mug.

5. Microwave for 1½ minutes or until egg is fully cooked.

6. Drizzle maple syrup and serve.


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page